ND 4-H Pollinator Ambassadors

ND 4-H Pollinator Habitat Ambassador team members announced

Submitted Photo The 4-H Pollinator Habitat Ambassadors for North Dakota are shown during their visit to Washington, D.C., including a meeting with Sen. Kevin Cramer and Congressman Kelly Armstrong. From left to right are chaperone Laura Devick, Kaylee Kemp, Sarah Potts, Sam Devick, Cramer, Katherine Troutman, Hannah Myrdal, Katherine Arnold and chaperone Brenden Klebe.

Three north central and northwest North Dakota 4-H members are among six in the state selected for the 2022 North Dakota 4-H Pollinator Habitat Ambassador team.

Those selected are: Sarah Potts, Ward County; Katherine Arnold, Pierce County; Katherine Troutman, Williams County; Kaylee Kemp, Pembina County; Sam Devick, Cass County; and Hannah Myrdal, Walsh County.

North Dakota 4-H received a National 4-H Council grant in collaboration with Corteva Agriscience for the 4-H Pollinator Habitat Ambassador Program (4-H PHA). The program works to prepare the next generation of pollinator experts by connecting local 4-H programs and grantee-identified community organizations to plan and install pollinator habitats.

Through national and local learning experiences, the teen leaders learn about the importance of pollinators and why they are essential to the ecosystem and for crops worldwide that depend on pollination. Additionally, they learn how to plan, install and work together to sustain pollinator habitats. As a result, these North Dakota 4-H PHAs learn more about their community and the resources it takes to plan and launch a project.

“In 4-H, we believe in the power of young people,” says Leigh Ann Skurupey, interim chair of the Center for 4-H Youth Development. “We see that every child has strengths and real influence to improve their communities and the world around us.”

Pollinator Habitat Ambassador team members announced | News, Sports, Jobs – Minot Daily News